Welcome to Sociology at the University of Toronto

We are proud that our vibrant department is consistently the top-ranked sociology department in Canada, with internationally-renowned scholars who have an excellent track record for securing research funding, producing outstanding sociological research, and extensively mentoring our graduate students.

Our collegial atmosphere encourages innovation and rigour in research and teaching. Our community of scholars includes over 60 faculty members, outstanding postdoctoral scholars, and creative and engaged graduate students. We have about 120 active graduate students including approximately 40 who are currently engaged in dissertation research. Particular areas of expertise include: Immigration and Ethnicity, Health and Mental Health, Crime and Socio-legal Studies, Gender and Family, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets, Political Sociology, The Sociology of Culture, and The Study of Social Networks and Community.

In addition to our unified Graduate Program, we have three independent undergraduate programs, one at each of the University of Toronto campuses (the downtown St. George campus, the University of Toronto at Mississauga, and the University of Toronto at Scarborough). Our undergraduate programs provide a rigorous context for our students to think sociologically about the world around them. Students in our undergraduate programs graduate with a broad understanding of the major branches of sociological thought, a thorough grounding in social research and data analysis, and a foundation in academic writing. Students learn about various sociological theories that help them understand the social world and about the different ways to ask questions and seek answers to better understand the way society functions. The programs teach skills in critical reading, analytical thinking, and communication. The Chairs of the three departments are: Scott Schieman (St. George), Anna Korteweg (UTM), and Patricia Landolt (UTSC). As the Chair of the Tri-Campus Graduate Program, Melissa Milkie provides coordination across the campuses and direction for the graduate department.

Our graduate programs provide exceptional training to students in advanced social research. At the graduate level, we focus on transforming our students from consumers of academic research into producers of new sociological knowledge. To that end, we have a strong focus on methodological training and integrate graduate students thoroughly into the faculty research programs in the department. When they graduate from the PhD program, our students are prepared to begin careers as scholars and teachers, or in a myriad of fields in the public and private sectors.
   Research Blog


Research Booklet