Graduate Students

Doctoral Candidates

Doctoral Candidates are PhD students who have completed their course work, and comprehensive exams, and have successfully defended their Dissertation proposals.

Katelin AlbertKatelin Albert
Technologies of Sexuality: A School-Based Ethnography of the HPV Vaccine in Toronto, Canada
Committee: Choo and Korteweg (Co-Supervisors), Baber
katelin.albert@mail.utoronto.ca
katelinalbert.com academia.edu   News
Chang Z. LinChang Z. Lin
Theorizing Dormancy
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Schafer, Marin
chang.lin@mail.utoronto.ca
Aya Bar Oz
The sanctity of life and unsacred death: Negotiating the value of life in the state organization.
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Dinovitzer, D. Silver
aya.baroz@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Gabe MenardGabe Menard
Explaining Variation in the Development of Regulatory Regimes: Network Neutrality and Internet Service Provision Regulations in the U.S. and UK, 1984-2015
Committee: Veugelers (Supervisor), Pettinicchio, Pernell, Myles
gabe.menard@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Judy BeglaubterJudy Beglaubter
Negotiating Fathercare: Exploring Parental Leave Use by Canadian Fathers
Committee: Fox (Supervisor), Taylor, Johnston
judy.beglaubter@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Atsushi NarisadaAtsushi Narisada
Work, Economic Justice, and Well-Being in Canada and the United States
Committee: Schieman (Supervisor), Milkie, Wodtke
a.narisada@mail.utoronto.ca  
ResearchGate
  News

James Braun
Local Culture” and the Problem of Coordination: The Case of Jamaica’s Diasporic Real Estate Market
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Salem, Trotz
james.braun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Jean-Francois Nault
Culture and Private School Choice: Uncovering the Cultural Dimensions of School Choice as Action
Committee: Childress and Baumann (Co-Supervisors), Davies
jf.nault@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Gordon Brett
The Embodied Dimensions of Creativity
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Mullen
gordon.brett@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Paul Andrew Nelson
Scaling-Up Local Food Systems: The Role of Cultural Intermediaries in Shaping Value and Transmitting Ideas about “Alternative” Food Production
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Childress
paul.nelson@mail.utoronto.ca
Catherine ChengCatherine Cheng
Intimate Frontiers: Chinese Marriage Migrants, Citizenship and Labour in Taiwan and Hong Kong
Committee: Hsiung (Supervisor), Choo, Cranford
mc.cheng@mail.utoronto.ca
catherinecheng.org academia.edu
Jaime NikolauJaime Nikolaou
Gauging Longevity: Indicators from Canada’s Reproductive Health Movement
Committee: Taylor (Supervisor), Fox, Pettinicchio
j.nikolaou@utoronto.ca

News
Amanda Couture-Carron
Pathways to Deviance Across Immigrant Generations
Committee: Tanner and Wortley (co-supervisors), Boyd
amanda.couture@mail.utoronto.ca
Merin OleschukMerin Oleschuk 
Health and Cooking in Value and Practice: A Mixed Methods Study of Food in Family Life.
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Milkie
merin.oleschuk@mail.utoronto.ca
merinoleschuk.wordpress.com  academia.edu  News
Athena EngmanAthena Engman
Organ Transplantation and the Variability of ‘Embodied’ Experience
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), Silver, Bryant, Schneiderhan
athena.engman@utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Matt Parbst
The Moderating Role of Social Policies on the Association between Social Inequalities and Mental Health: Evidence from the Effects of SES, Gender, and Marital Status on Depression
Committee: Wheaton (Supervisor), Milkie, Siddiqi, Boeckmann
matt.parbst@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Omar FaruqueOmar Faruque
Mining Capitalism and Contentious Politics in Bangladesh
Committee: Hannigan (Supervisor), Johnston, Schneiderhan
o.faruque@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Kerri ScheerKerri Scheer
Producing Law and Governance: A case study of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario Disciplinary Process
Committee: Maurutto (Supervisor), Goodman, Valverde
kerri.scheer@mail.utoronto.ca
Melissa Godbout
Corruption, Employment Inconsistency, and Getting Ahead
Committee: Anderson, Veugelers, Brym
melissa.godbout@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Rachel SchumannRachel Schumann
Families as Civilian Jailers: Exploring Accused-Family Relationships within the Context of Bail in Ontario
Committee: Kruttschnitt (Supervisor), Goodman, Dinovitzer
rachel.schumann@mail.utoronto.ca
Cinthya Guzman
Boredom in (inter)action: a sociological study
Committee: D.Silver (supervisor), Schneiderhan, Milkie
c.guzman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Ioana SendroiuIoana Sendroiu
Inventing Law: Legitimating Post-World War Two Political Regimes in Romania and France.
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Pernell, Dinovitzer, Liu
ioana.sendroiu@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Joshua HaroldJoshua Harold
Mnemonic Boundaries: Historical Experience and Ethnic Boundary Making
Committee: Fong (Supervisor), Silver, Baumann
josh.harold@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Jason SettelsJason Settels
The Multi-Contextual Effects Through Which Environmental Economic Declines Impact Older Persons’ Quality of Life
Committee: Schafer (Supervisor), Berry, Wodtke
jason.settels@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Bahar Hashemi
Women’s negotiations over citizenship rights in mixed status families in Canada: the case of sponsored spouses and parents and grandparents who arrive through the super visa
Committee: Landolt (supervisor),  Cranford, Choo
bahar.hashemi@mail.utoronto.ca    News
Sarah ShahSarah Shah
Negotiating Power in Muslim Couples: Gender Strategies, Religious Resources, and New Bargaining Contexts
Committee: Salem and Korteweg (Co-Supervisors), Baber
ssarah.shah@mail.utoronto.ca
Sean HayesSean Hayes
Ethnic Concentration & Labour Market Outcomes in Early 20th Century Canada
Committee: Jones, Marin, Bryant
s.hayes@mail.utoronto.ca
Anna SlavinaAnna Slavina
Repertoires of Political Engagement: Individual and Contextual Factors
Committee: Brym (Supervisor), Wodtke, Levi
anna.slavina@mail.utoronto.ca
Angela HickAngela Hick
Mark of the Non-conviction Record: Police Contact and Employment Experiences
Committee: Welsh and Hannah-Moffat (Co-Supervisors), Goodman
angela.hick@mail.utoronto.ca
Yukiko Tanaka
Decolonizing Immigrant Settlement: Immigrant Belonging in the Settler State
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Adese
yukiko.tanaka@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Andreas HoffbauerAndreas Hoffbauer
Theorizing Novelty: Innovation Processes in Architectural Firms and Early Stage Tech Startups
Committee: Schneiderhan (Supervisor), Silver, Childress
andreas.hoffbauer@mail.utoronto.ca
andreashoffbauer.com News
Chris TathamChris Tatham
Sexuality, Human Rights, Prevention and the Criminalization of Non-Disclosure of HIV in Canada
Committee: Green (Supervisor), Maurutto, Kruttschnitt
chris.tatham@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Alexandra Hunter
Continuum of Carelessness: Paradoxes of Mental Health Care in Corrections
Committee: Hannah-Moffat, Goodman, Matheson
alex.hunter@mail.utoronto.ca
S.W. Underwood
Modern Daddies and Papas: Family, Parenting and Masculinities among Gay Co-Fathers
Committee: Fox (Supervisor), Taylor, Adam
s.underwood@mail.utoronto.ca
www.swunderwood.com    News
James Jeong
A Special Type of Social Control?: Explaining Victimization and Delinquent Behaviors of Immigrants and Their Children.
Committee:  Boyd and Tanner (Co-supervisors), Fong
junmin.jeong@mail.utoronto.ca

Laura Upenieks
Social contexts and Health in later life: Integrating social networks, Intimate Relationships, and Religion
Committee: Schafer (Supervisor), Miles, Schieman
laura.upenieks@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Timothy KangTimothy Kang
Partners and Crime: Contemporary Unions and Desistance from Crime During the Transition to Adulthood
Committee: Kruttschnitt (Supervisor), Apel, Boeckmann
tim.kang@mail.utoronto.ca
Anelyse WeilerAnelyse Weiler
The Periphery in the Core: Investigating Migration, Agrarian Citizenship and Metabolic Rift Through a Case Study of the Apple
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Chun, Whittman
anelyse.weiler@mail.utoronto.ca 
 
www.anelyseweiler.com  News
Noga Keidar
Cities and their Gurus: Why the Links Between Urban Studies and Cities Took the Shape of ‘Gurus’ and Their ‘Followers’? 
Committee:  Dan Silver (Supervisor), Sida Liu, John Hannigan
noga.keidar@mail.utoronto.ca
Personal Page Academia.edu
Lawrence WilliamsLawrence Williams
Meaning at Work: How Expectations Shape Careers
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), Korteweg, Tilcsik
lawrence.williams@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Yang-Sook KimYang-Sook Kim
The Politics of Care: A Comparative Study of Co-ethnic and Local Women Workers in the Domestic and Long-term Care Market of South Korea
Committee: Cranford (Supervisor), Choo, Chun
yangsook.kim@utoronto.ca
Burin YildiztekinBurin Yildiztekin
The Liminality, Mundanity and Sacredness of Place: The Case of the Western Wall
Committee: Silver (Supervisor), Baumann, Ragab
burin.yildiztekin@mail.utoronto.ca
academica.edu
James Gerald Patrick Lannigan
Discourse and structure: An examination of the organizational identities and networks of contemporary specialty coffee retailers
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Childress, Johnston
james.lannigan@mail.utoronto.ca  
News

PhD Students (pre-dissertation)


MA Students

Stephanie Mary Grace Babinski
stephanie.babinski@mail.utoronto.ca

Claudia Abigail Borja Calonga
abi.borjacalonga@mail.utoronto.ca

Makenzie Marie Correa
makenzie.correa@mail.utoronto.ca

David Cowan
davidg.cowan@mail.utoronto.ca