The Graduate Department of Sociology is stationed on the St. George campus of the University of Toronto though our faculty teach on all three of the campuses. We are located at the northeast corner of the campus, on the second and third floors at 725 Spadina (the western wing of the University of Toronto Schools building).


Our mailing address is:

725 Spadina Ave.
Toronto, ON
M5S 2J4

For general inquiries, please contact  or 416-978-3412. Learn about the St. George staff and full contact information here.

The Acting Chair of the Tri-Campus Graduate Department of Sociology is Professor Markus Schafer ( Professors Shyon Baumann (, Philip Goodman (, and Joe Hermer  ( are the Chairs of the St. George Campus Department, the University of Toronto at Mississauga Department, and the University of Toronto at Scarborough Department respectively. The Chairs’ Assistants are Tina Colomvakos (St. George; – 416-978-5541), Diana Becevello (UTM; – 905-828-5395) and Ann-Marie Smith (UTSC; – 416-287-7282).

Professor Markus Schafer ( is the Associate Chair of Graduate Studies. Please direct graduate school inquiries to Kerstin Giannini ( – 416-946-4061), Interim Graduate Administrator or Jeremy Nichols ( – 416-978-3414), Acting Graduate Program Assistant.

Questions about faculty research funding opportunities can be directed to the Research Coordinator, Suzanne Jaeger ( – 416-978-5417).

For IT inquiries contact John Manalo ( – 416-978-3237).

Inquiries about our undergraduate programs can be directed to: Donna Ragbir (St. George; –  416-946-4064), Ania Joly (UTM; – 905-569-4288), Janet Roopnarinesingh (UTSC; – 416-208-2683).

For questions about finances, contact Carmen Ho (St. George; – 416-978-8267),  Lorna Taylor (UTM; – 905-569-4391) or Gail Copland (UTSC; – 416-287-7284).