Graduate Students

Doctoral Candidates

Doctoral Candidates are PhD students who have completed their course work, and comprehensive exams, and have successfully defended their Dissertation proposals.

Aya Bar OzAya Bar Oz
The Sanctity of Life and Unsacred Death: Negotiating the Value of Life in the State Organization.
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Dinovitzer, D. Silver
aya.baroz@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Andreea MogosanuAndreea Mogosanu
Gender Inequality Taking a Long View
Committee: Dinovitzer (Supervisor),  Boeckmann, Schieman
andreea.mogosanu@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Tyler BatemanTyler Bateman
Naturalist awakening: Disposition formation and autobiographical storytelling in naturalist awakening to the love of nature, practices to protect nature, and environmental justice
Committee: Johnston and Berrey (co-supervisors), Hannigan, Baber
tyler.bateman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Jean-Francois NaultJean-Francois Nault
Culture and Private School Choice: Uncovering the Cultural Dimensions of School Choice as Action
Committee: Childress and Baumann (Co-Supervisors), Davies
jf.nault@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Rene BogovicRene Bogovic
The Polyvalence of Language in Ethnoracial Categorization: A Case Study of Afrikaans
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Farah Schwartzmann, Baber
rene.bogovic@mail.utoronto.ca
Paul Andrew NelsonPaul Andrew Nelson
Scaling-Up Local Food Systems: The Role of Cultural Intermediaries in Shaping Value and Transmitting Ideas about “Alternative” Food Production
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Childress
paul.nelson@mail.utoronto.ca

James BraunJames Braun
Local Culture” and the Problem of Coordination: The Case of Jamaica’s Diasporic Real Estate Market
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Salem, Trotz
james.braun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Andrew NevinAndrew Nevin
New Directions in Cyber-Criminology: Evaluating Alternative Explanations for Online Deviance
Committee: Kruttschnitt (supervisor), Miles,  Schieman
andrew.nevin@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Gordon BrettGordon Brett
The Embodied Dimensions of Creativity
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Mullen
gordon.brett@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Jaime NikolauJaime Nikolaou
Gauging Longevity: Indicators from Canada’s Reproductive Health Movement
Committee: Taylor (Supervisor), Fox, Pettinicchio
j.nikolaou@utoronto.ca

News

Milos BrocicMilos Brocic
Expression in Politics
Committee: Silver (Supervisor), Veugelers, Miles
milos.brocic@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Merin OleschukMerin Oleschuk 
Health and Cooking in Value and Practice: A Mixed Methods Study of Food in Family Life.
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Milkie
merin.oleschuk@mail.utoronto.ca
merinoleschuk.wordpress.com  academia.edu  News
Graduate student replacement imageBrigid Burke
Violence and Interactional Boundary Work: Understanding, Controlling & Challenging Violence through Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
Committee: J. Lee (Supervisor), D. Silver,  Paradis
b.burke@mail.utoronto.ca
Jason PagaduanJason Pagaduan
Aging Fitness Communities: A Comparative Case Study of Active Aging Communities in Scarborough.
Committee: Baumann and Johnston (co-supervisors), Schafer
jason.pagaduan@mail.utoronto.ca
Amanda Couture-CarronAmanda Couture-Carron
Pathways to Deviance Across Immigrant Generations
Committee: Tanner and Wortley (co-supervisors), Boyd
amanda.couture@mail.utoronto.ca
Matt ParbstMatt Parbst
The Moderating Role of Social Policies on the Association between Social Inequalities and Mental Health: Evidence from the Effects of SES, Gender, and Marital Status on Depression
Committee: Wheaton (Supervisor), Milkie, Siddiqi, Boeckmann
matt.parbst@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Marie-Lise Drappeau-BissonMarie-Lise Drappeau-Bisson
Iconicity, Commemoration and Aesthetic Evaluation: The Case of the Reception of Québec’s Feminist “Big Book” L’Euguélionne
Committee: Taylor (supervisor), Baumann, Johnston
ml.drapeau.bisson@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu   News
Shawn PerronShawn Perron
Moral Economies in Decline? Unions, Income Norms, and Inequality in American Communities
Committee: D. Silver (Supervisor), Dokshin, Pettinicchio, Wodtke
shawn.perron@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Athena EngmanAthena Engman
Organ Transplantation and the Variability of ‘Embodied’ Experience
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Bryant, Schneiderhan
athena.engman@utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Taylor Price
Songs and Songwriters in the Digital Age
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Leschziner, Childress
taylor.price@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Cinthya GuzmanCinthya Guzman
Boredom in (Inter)action: A Sociological Study
Committee: D.Silver (supervisor), Milkie, Fosse, Schneiderhan
c.guzman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Kaitlyn QuinnKaitlyn Quinn
“Good intentions pave many roads. Not all of them lead to hell”: An investigation of Canadian voluntary organizations’ work with criminalized women
Committee: Goodman and Schneiderhan (co-supervisors), Smith
Kaitlyn.quinn@utoronto.ca
Joshua HaroldJoshua Harold
Mnemonic Boundaries: Historical Experience and Ethnic Boundary Making
Committee: Fong (Supervisor), D. Silver, Baumann
josh.harold@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Kate RozadKate Rozad
Spoiled Identity? Exploring Stigma and Reentry following Wrongful Imprisonment 
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Flores, Owusu-Bempah
kate.rozad@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Bahar HashemiBahar Hashemi
Women’s Negotiations over Citizenship Rights in Mixed Status Families in Canada: The Case of Sponsored Spouses and Parents and Grandparents who Arrive through the Super Visa
Committee: Landolt (supervisor),  Cranford, Choo
bahar.hashemi@mail.utoronto.ca    News
Kerri ScheerKerri Scheer
Producing Law and Governance: A case study of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario Disciplinary Process
Committee: Maurutto (Supervisor), Goodman, Valverde
kerri.scheer@mail.utoronto.ca
Angela HickAngela Hick
Mark of the Non-Conviction Record: Police Contact and Employment Experiences
Committee: Welsh and Hannah-Moffat (Co-Supervisors), Goodman
angela.hick@mail.utoronto.ca
Rachel SchumannRachel Schumann
Families as Civilian Jailers: Exploring Accused-Family Relationships within the Context of Bail in Ontario
Committee: Kruttschnitt (Supervisor), Goodman, Dinovitzer
rachel.schumann@mail.utoronto.ca
Alexandra HunterAlexandra Hunter
Continuum of Carelessness: Paradoxes of Mental Health Care in Corrections
Committee: Hannah-Moffat, Goodman, Matheson
alex.hunter@mail.utoronto.ca
Ioana SendroiuIoana Sendroiu
Inventing Law: Legitimating Post-World War Two Political Regimes in Romania and France.
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Pernell, Dinovitzer, Liu
ioana.sendroiu@mail.utoronto.ca
ioanasendroiu.com News
James JeongJames Jeong
A Special Type of Social Control?: Explaining Victimization and Delinquent Behaviours of Immigrants and Their Children.
Committee:  Boyd and Tanner (Co-supervisors), Fong
junmin.jeong@mail.utoronto.ca
Lance StewartLance Stewart
What it’s worth: Preferences and Expectations of Music Listeners in the Evaluation of Material Affordances.
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Childress
lance.stewart@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Timothy KangTimothy Kang
Partners and Crime: Contemporary Unions and Desistance from Crime During the Transition to Adulthood
Committee: Kruttschnitt (Supervisor), Apel, Boeckmann
tim.kang@mail.utoronto.ca
Haosen SunHaosen Sun
Social Networks in the Aging Process: Geographical Structure, Support Exchanges and Turnovers in Europe
Committee: Schafer (Supervisor), Boeckmann, Berry
haosen.sun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Noga KeidarNoga Keidar
Cities and their Gurus: Why the Links Between Urban Studies and Cities Took the Shape of ‘Gurus’ and Their ‘Followers’? 
Committee:  D. Silver (Supervisor), Liu, Hannigan
noga.keidar@mail.utoronto.ca
Urban Clinic Page Academia.edu
Yukiko Tanaka
Decolonizing Immigrant Settlement: Immigrant Belonging in the Settler State
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Adese
yukiko.tanaka@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Graduate student replacement imageHammad Khan
The Crescent Moon through Maple Trees: An Examination of Settlement and National Belonging for Pakistani-Canadian Newcomers
Committee: Schneiderhan (supervisor), Korteweg, Maghbouleh, Plys
hammad.khan@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Chris TathamChris Tatham
Sexuality, Human Rights, Prevention and the Criminalization of Non-Disclosure of HIV in Canada
Committee: Green (Supervisor), Maurutto, Kruttschnitt
chris.tatham@mail.utoronto.ca
Yang-Sook KimYang-Sook Kim
The Politics of Care: A Comparative Study of Co-ethnic and Local Women Workers in the Domestic and Long-term Care Market of South Korea
Committee: Cranford (Supervisor), Choo, Chun
yangsook.kim@utoronto.ca
News
S.W. Underwood
Modern Daddies and Papas: Family, Parenting and Masculinities among Gay Co-Fathers
Committee: Fox (Supervisor), Taylor, Adam
s.underwood@mail.utoronto.ca
News
James Gerald Patrick Lannigan
Discourse and Structure: An Examination of the Organizational Identities and Networks of Contemporary Specialty Coffee Retailers
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Childress, Johnston
james.lannigan@mail.utoronto.ca  
News
Anelyse WeilerAnelyse Weiler
The Periphery in the Core: Investigating Migration, Agrarian Citizenship and Metabolic Rift Through a Case Study of the Apple
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Chun, Whittman
anelyse.weiler@mail.utoronto.ca 
 
www.anelyseweiler.com  News
Chang Z. LinChang Z. Lin
Theorizing Dormancy
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Schafer, Marin
chang.lin@mail.utoronto.ca News
Man Xu (Angela)
Explaining Chinese Independent Migration to Iran: Dynamic Migration Trajectories and Flexible Adaptation 
Committee: Landolt and Hsiung (Co-supervisors), Hermer
manx.xu@mail.utoronto.ca
Patricia LouiePatricia Louie
Complicating Race in the Study of Mental and Physical Health
Committee: Wheaton (Supervisor), Milkie, Siddiqi
patricia.louie@mail.utoronto.ca
patricialouie.com academia.edu News
Burin YildiztekinBurin Yildiztekin
The Liminality, Mundanity and Sacredness of Place: The Case of the Western Wall
Committee: Z. Baber (Supervisor), Bryant, Ragab
burin.yildiztekin@mail.utoronto.ca
academica.edu
Gabe MenardGabe Menard
Explaining Variation in the Development of Regulatory Regimes: Network Neutrality and Internet Service Provision Regulations in the U.S. and UK, 1984-2015
Committee: Veugelers (Supervisor), Pettinicchio, Pernell, Myles
gabe.menard@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

PhD Students (pre-dissertation)


MA Students