Graduate Students

Doctoral Candidates

Doctoral Candidates are PhD students who have completed their course work, and comprehensive exams, and have successfully defended their Dissertation proposals.

News

Amny Athamny
Keeping It All A Halal Muslim Was Never Harder: Identity Formation Among Second Generation Muslims in Canadian Urban Centers 
Committee: Landolt (supervisor), Reitz, D. Silver

amny.athamny@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Andreea MogosanuAndreea Mogosanu
Gender Inequality Taking a Long View
Committee: Dinovitzer (Supervisor),  Boeckmann, Schieman
andreea.mogosanu@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Philip Badawy
A “Holy Grail” of Work and Family Life? Complicating Schedule Control as a Resource
Committee: Schieman (supervisor), Milkie, Schafer
philip.badawy@mail.utoronto.ca
researchgate.net  News

Jean-Francois NaultJean-Francois Nault
Culture and Private School Choice: Uncovering the Cultural Dimensions of School Choice as Action
Committee: Childress and Baumann (Co-Supervisors), Davies
jf.nault@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Aya Bar OzAya Bar Oz
The Sanctity of Life and Unsacred Death: Negotiating the Value of Life in the State Organization.
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Dinovitzer, D. Silver
aya.baroz@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Paul Andrew NelsonPaul Andrew Nelson
Scaling-Up Local Food Systems: The Role of Cultural Intermediaries in Shaping Value and Transmitting Ideas about “Alternative” Food Production
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Childress
paul.nelson@mail.utoronto.ca

Tyler BatemanTyler Bateman
Naturalist awakening: Disposition formation and autobiographical storytelling in naturalist awakening to the love of nature, practices to protect nature, and environmental justice
Committee: Johnston and Berrey (co-supervisors), Hannigan, Baber
tyler.bateman@mail.utoronto.ca   academia.edu News

Andrew NevinAndrew Nevin
New Directions in Cyber-Criminology: Evaluating Alternative Explanations for Online Deviance
Committee: Kruttschnitt (supervisor), Miles,  Schieman
andrew.nevin@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Rene BogovicRene Bogovic
The Polyvalence of Language in Ethnoracial Categorization: A Case Study of Afrikaans
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Farah Schwartzmann, Baber
rene.bogovic@mail.utoronto.ca
Jaime NikolauJaime Nikolaou
Gauging Longevity: Indicators from Canada’s Reproductive Health Movement
Committee: Taylor (Supervisor), Fox, Pettinicchio
j.nikolaou@utoronto.ca
News

James BraunJames Braun
Local Culture” and the Problem of Coordination: The Case of Jamaica’s Diasporic Real Estate Market
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Salem, Trotz
james.braun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Jason PagaduanJason Pagaduan
Aging Fitness Communities: A Comparative Case Study of Active Aging Communities in Scarborough.
Committee: Baumann and Johnston (co-supervisors), Schafer
jason.pagaduan@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Gordon BrettGordon Brett
The Embodied Dimensions of Creativity
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Mullen
gordon.brett@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Matt ParbstMatt Parbst
The Moderating Role of Social Policies on the Association between Social Inequalities and Mental Health: Evidence from the Effects of SES, Gender, and Marital Status on Depression
Committee: Wheaton (Supervisor), Milkie, Siddiqi, Boeckmann
matt.parbst@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Milos BrocicMilos Brocic
Expression in Politics
Committee: Silver (Supervisor), Veugelers, Miles
milos.brocic@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Sebastien Parker
Continuity and Change in French Democracy
Committee: Veugelers(Supervisor), Dokshin, Fosse
sebastien.parker@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Graduate student replacement imageBrigid Burke
Violence and Interactional Boundary Work: Understanding, Controlling & Challenging Violence through Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
Committee: J. Lee (Supervisor), D. Silver,  Paradis
b.burke@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Shawn PerronShawn Perron
Moral Economies in Decline? Unions, Income Norms, and Inequality in American Communities
Committee: D. Silver (Supervisor), Dokshin, Pettinicchio, Wodtke
shawn.perron@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Fernando Calderón Figueroa
The Spatial Context of Civic Engagement
Committee: D. Silver (Supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Grigoryeva f.calderonfigueroa@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Taylor Price
Songs and Songwriters in the Digital Age
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Leschziner, Childress
taylor.price@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Marie-Lise Drappeau-BissonMarie-Lise Drappeau-Bisson
Iconicity, Commemoration and Aesthetic Evaluation: The Case of the Reception of Québec’s Feminist “Big Book” L’Euguélionne
Committee: Taylor (supervisor), Baumann, Johnston
ml.drapeau.bisson@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Kaitlyn QuinnKaitlyn Quinn
“Good intentions pave many roads. Not all of them lead to hell”: An investigation of Canadian voluntary organizations’ work with criminalized women
Committee: Goodman and Schneiderhan (co-supervisors), Smith
Kaitlyn.quinn@utoronto.ca
News
Athena EngmanAthena Engman
Organ Transplantation and the Variability of ‘Embodied’ Experience
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Bryant, Schneiderhan
athena.engman@utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News

Andrea Roman Alfaro
Navigating the Continuum of Violence: An Ethnographic Study of Women’s Experiences of Violence in Peru
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Flores (Co-supervisor), Contreras, Taylor

andreandrea.romanalfaro@mail.utoronto.ca
andrearomanalfaro.com News 

Cinthya Guzman
Boredom in (Inter)action: A Sociological Study
Committee: D.Silver (supervisor), Milkie, Fosse, Schneiderhan
c.guzman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Kate RozadKate Rozad
Spoiled Identity? Exploring Stigma and Reentry following Wrongful Imprisonment 
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Flores, Owusu-Bempah
kate.rozad@mail.utoronto.ca
News

Bahar HashemiBahar Hashemi
Women’s Negotiations over Citizenship Rights in Mixed Status Families in Canada: The Case of Sponsored Spouses and Parents and Grandparents who Arrive through the Super Visa
Committee: Landolt (supervisor),  Cranford, Choo
bahar.hashemi@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Kerri ScheerKerri Scheer
Producing Law and Governance: A case study of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario Disciplinary Process
Committee: Maurutto (Supervisor), Goodman, Valverde
kerri.scheer@mail.utoronto.ca

News
Angela HickAngela Hick
Mark of the Non-Conviction Record: Police Contact and Employment Experiences
Committee: Welsh and Hannah-Moffat (Co-Supervisors), Goodman
angela.hick@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Lance StewartLance Stewart
What it’s worth: Preferences and Expectations of Music Listeners in the Evaluation of Material Affordances.
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Childress
lance.stewart@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu  News
Storm Jeffers
On the Co-constitutionalism of Families & The Criminal Justice System: Narratives of Families as Penal Subjects & Penal Mediators
Committee: Goodman, Owusu-Bempah (Co-Supervisors), Flores
storm.jeffers@mail.utoronto.ca
Haosen SunHaosen Sun
Social Networks in the Aging Process: Geographical Structure, Support Exchanges and Turnovers in Europe
Committee: Schafer (Supervisor), Boeckmann, Berry
haosen.sun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
James JeongJames Jeong
A Special Type of Social Control?: Explaining Victimization and Delinquent Behaviours of Immigrants and Their Children.
Committee:  Boyd and Tanner (Co-supervisors), Fong
junmin.jeong@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Yukiko Tanaka
Decolonizing Immigrant Settlement: Immigrant Belonging in the Settler State
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Adese
yukiko.tanaka@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News
Noga KeidarNoga Keidar
Cities and their Gurus: Why the Links Between Urban Studies and Cities Took the Shape of ‘Gurus’ and Their ‘Followers’? 
Committee:  D. Silver (Supervisor), Liu, Hannigan
noga.keidar@mail.utoronto.ca
Urban Clinic Page Academia.edu
Chris TathamChris Tatham
Sexuality, Human Rights, Prevention and the Criminalization of Non-Disclosure of HIV in Canada
Committee: Green (Supervisor), Maurutto, Kruttschnitt
chris.tatham@mail.utoronto.ca
Graduate student replacement imageHammad Khan
The Crescent Moon through Maple Trees: An Examination of Settlement and National Belonging for Pakistani-Canadian Newcomers
Committee: Schneiderhan (supervisor), Korteweg, Maghbouleh, Plys
hammad.khan@mail.utoronto.ca
News
S.W. Underwood
Modern Daddies and Papas: Family, Parenting and Masculinities among Gay Co-Fathers
Committee: Fox (Supervisor), Taylor, Adam
s.underwood@mail.utoronto.ca
News
James Gerald Patrick Lannigan
Discourse and Structure: An Examination of the Organizational Identities and Networks of Contemporary Specialty Coffee Retailers
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Childress, Johnston
james.lannigan@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Dana Wray
How Do Work-Family Policies Shape Parents’ Time with Children?
Committee: Milkie (Supervisor), Boeckmann, Peng
dana.wray@mail.utoronto.ca
Danawray.com
News
Chang Z. LinChang Z. Lin
Theorizing Dormancy
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Schafer, Marin
chang.lin@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Man Xu (Angela)
Explaining Chinese Independent Migration to Iran: Dynamic Migration Trajectories and Flexible Adaptation 
Committee: Landolt and Hsiung (Co-supervisors), Hermer
manx.xu@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Martin Lukk

Martin Lukk

The Distributional Question in Contemporary Nationalism

Committee: Schneiderhan and Wodtke (Co-Supervisors), Pettinicchio, Leschziner
martin.lukk@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News

Catherine YehCatherine Yeh
Gender Inequality and Knowledge Production in the New Knowledge Economy
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Dokshin, Johnston
catherine.yeh@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Gabe MenardGabe Menard
Explaining Variation in the Development of Regulatory Regimes: Network Neutrality and Internet Service Provision Regulations in the U.S. and UK, 1984-2015
Committee: Veugelers (Supervisor), Pettinicchio, Pernell, Myles
gabe.menard@mail.utoronto.ca

academia.edu News
 

PhD Students (pre-dissertation)


MA Students

Rebecca Nachtigall
rebecca.nachtigall@mail.utoronto.ca

Max Novotny
m.novotny@mail.utoronto.ca

Abtin Parnia
abtin.parnia@mail.utoronto.ca